The shortlist for this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards have just been announced. Highlights from a Scottish point of view are the thoroughly-deserved nominations of Tommy Smith for Jazz Educator of the Year and Rob Adams for Jazz Journalist of the Year.

The complete shortlists can be found on the Jazz Services website, but in the three main categories they are:

Jazz Musician of the Year

  • Guy Barker
  • John Etheridge
  • Christine Tobin

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

  • Beats & Pieces Big Band
  • Impossible Gentlemen
  • Troyka

Jazz Album of the Year

  • Phronesis Walking Dark
  • John Surman Saltash Bells
  • Christine Tobin Sailing to Byzantium

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on May 8th.