Tags

, , ,

Tonight’s edition of Jazz Line-Up on Radio Three is a live recording from the BBC’s Pacific Quay building in Glasgow:

“Jazz Line-Up, as part of Radio 3’s Baroque Spring, confirms the improvising side of Bach, with a little Vivaldi and original composition from the Lighthouse Trio (Tim Garland/Saxophone, Gwilym Simcock/Piano, Asaf Sirkis/Percussion). They are joined by the Edinburgh Quartet to play specially arranged music in Baroque style. Professor John Butt (Harpsichord) talks to Julian Joseph about Bach composition and they both illustrate his music in unique pairing of John Butt and Julian Joseph at the piano.”

I was one of the studio audience for the recording. I thought the Lighthouse Trio‘s contribution was very good, particularly the more heated, harder-blowing sections of their set. I partiularly enjoyed the two “Extreme Baroque” pieces. I’ll be curious to hear what it sounds like on air, because from where I was sitting on the night, although the sound was very clear, there was the slightly disconcerting experience of seeing the string players to my right, but mainly hearing them through a speaker on my left.

There was also a discussion with musical examples comparing baroque and jazz improvisation techniques. This was interesting, but to me would have been better as a standalone programme or an interval talk in a concert rather than as part of one of the BBC’s few jazz programmes.

Despite that minor gripe, the programme’s well worth a listen.

