, , , , , , , , , ,

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2011

Congratulations to Brian Kellock and Brass Jaw, who last night won the “Jazz Musician of the Year” and “Jazz Ensemble of the Year” categories in the UK Parliamentary Jazz Awards. Official announcement.

We’ve long known they’re good but it’s great to see them get some wider recognition. Does this mean someone might re-release Kellock’s outstanding Live at Henry’s album?

There was further Scottish interest in the Ensemble category, where the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra ensured that two out of three nominees were from north of the border, and in the Jazz Education shortlist, where Tommy Smith made the shortlist (the eventual winner was Ian Darrington of Wigan Jazz). Ex-Glasgow University student Coleridge Goode won the Services to Jazz Award.

Album of the Year was John Turville‘s Midas, which I must admit I’ve never heard.

Peter Bacon’s The Jazz Breakfast has a full list of nominees and winners.