, , , ,

Congratulations to Brian Kellock, Brass Jaw, the SNJO, Alan Steadman and Tommy Smith for making the shortlist for the 2011 Parliamentary Jazz Awards.

Brian is competing with Django Bates and Jim Hart in the Jazz Musician of the Year category; Brass Jaw and the SNJO are up against each other, and the Jason Yarde/Andrew McCormack band, in the Best Group category; Alan Steadman (of Radio Tay) is one of five nominees for the Best Broadcaster award; and Professor Smith is nominated in the Jazz Educator category, alongside Ian Darrington and Nick Smart.

In the running for Album of the Year are:

  • Django Bates Beloved Bird
  • John Turville Midas
  • Norma Winstone Stories Yet To Tell
  • Tim Whitehead Colour Beginnings

The full list of nominations can be found on the Jazz Services website. The winners will be announced on the 17th of May.