Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s all happening midweek this week.

Pascal Schumacher

Quick – name a jazz musician from Luxemburg? Well, one answer would be vibes player Pascal Schumacher, whose quartet are playing at the Recital Room on Wednesday 10th, with special guest Konrad Wiszniewski. It starts at 8pm and tickets are £10. I don’t know much about Schumacher, but here’s a promo video for his album from last year, Here We Gong

Benn Clatworthy

On Thursday 11th, there’s the regular Bridge Music gig at Glasgow Art Club. This week’s guest is UK-born, US-based sax player Benn Clatworthy, backed by the man Tommy Smith insists should be referred to as “the great Steve Hamilton” on piano, Euan Burton on bass, and Alyn Cosker on drums. It costs £5 and starts at 8.15. Worth going to for the backing trio alone, in my opinion, and if this clip is anything to go by, Clatworthy’s well worth hearing too.

A couple of very promising gigs, although I sadly won’t be able to be at either of them. But I will be having fun elsewhere, so don’t feel too sorry for me.

Arnett Cobb

Finally, I mentioned Arnett Cobb in my last post, and it occurred to me that some people might not know who I was referring to. Cobb, born in 1918 in Houston (not the Renfrewshire one), was a classic example of what is often referred to as “Texas tenor” – a big-toned, gruff, blues-drenched style of playing. He worked in Lionel Hampton’s band for a number of years before going on to a successful solo career. A serious car accident in 1956 left him needing crutches for the rest of his life. He died, again in Houston, in 1989. Fuller biography. And here he is:

