Tags

If you’re on the Jazz International mailing list, you’ll already have received this email from promoter Todd Gordon:

Jazz International recently made a joint application in the name of Jazz Scotland (with Assembly Direct and Jazz Aberdeen) for funding from the Scottish Arts Council. Unfortunately, the grant awarded to this new organisation was not as much as hoped for and, coupled with the current economic climate – as well as the perennial challenge of attracting jazz audiences – I have decided not to proceed with that partnership.

I will continue to run events under the Jazz International name but it will be restricted to a few, larger-scale concerts rather than programming at smaller venues such as The Lot in Edinburgh and the Recital Room in Glasgow.

Over the last couple of years it has been a pleasure to work with so many wonderful jazz artists. Jazz International clocked up over 80 gigs during that period and I will continue to explore ways to further develop the jazz scene in Scotland.

If I was being insanely optimistic, I’d hope that this might lead to there being two organisations promoting formal jazz concerts in Glasgow – one putting on large scale events, and one putting on smaller gigs – but I’m not holding my breath.

Thank you once again, bankers!

