The programme for this year’s Glasgow International Jazz Festival is now out, and as always there are some very interesting gigs. The festival runs from Friday 22nd June to Sunday 1st July, and full details are available at www.jazzfest.co.uk

One of the noteworthy things is the use of a new venue, the Regal Social Club, for quite a few of the concerts. I don’t know anything about the Regal except that last time I was in that part of Bell Street, it wasn’t finished yet. Hopefully it will be fully up-and-running by the start of the festival, and we won’t face the chaos and embarrassment which hit Celtic Connections in 2006 when the revamped City Halls weren’t quite ready in time.

The biggest names appearing at the Festival are the Pat Metheny and Brad Mehldau Quartet who are at the Carling Academy on Friday 29th. I won’t be going, though, partly because the ticket price of £29 is off-putting (it’s twice the price of most of the other concerts), and partly because I plan to go and see Annie Ross at the Fruitmarket the same night.

Other highlights for me are

July will be spent recovering from the damage to my wallet.

